Coffee and Pajamas 2

Standard

Our first task for the module Virtual environments : Is one life enough? was to visit and participate in Coffee and Pajamas Jazz Show at the Sunset Jazz Club.

One of my first impressions was associated with social norms. At first I did not know how to behave and I was trying to decipher the proper way of behaviour in this type of a social interaction. I noticed that Second Life very much resembles real life when it comes to social norms, although people seem to be more open and relaxed. The only problem with communicating that I encountered was a difficulty introducing myself to Elfay Pinkdot but it was mainly due to the fact that there were a lot of people trying to talk to her. It also seemed to me that people who were present at the Jazz Show knew one another. I noticed that they were conversing a lot among each other and I got an impression that SL in fact is for them another reality parallel to their normal lives. I made a few acquaintances and I noticed that it was a bit easier to communicate with the people I met than it would be in a real life. I think that because of that there are so many people living their second life on SL.

I was a very interesting experience but getting used to virtual environment is a bit challenging with all the technical tricks and moves to learn. I think that it was one of the main reasons why I could not be fully relaxed and experience this event like most of the rest of the attendees. For example I could not stop dancing after accepting an invitation to dance or I was not sure how to introduce myself to Elfay. I am hoping that with time I will be able to experience SL fully.

About aniaanu55

Choosing the Virtual Environment: Is one life enough? module I am hoping to gain some new experience in the virtual space. Second life is completely new to mo so there is a lot to learn about it, also I have never had a blog before so this is a new experience to me too. Nowadays virtual environment is a great part of everyone's life so I find it crucial to be able to find myself in it and explore different aspects of it. I think the module will be something very interesting and fresh.

2 responses »

  1. Hi. Very good second go at the post.Makes it easier to interact with you.
    What do you mean by social norms? And what would be the norms in real life? can you draw up some comparisons that demonstrate how SL is “more open and relaxed” or show a reference that states that?

    • By social norms I mean rules that govern behaviour in everyday life. So for example we adjust our behaviour depending on the context in which we find ourselfs and the context in second life is slightly different than that in real life and because of that people in Second Life tend to be more open and relaxed. According to Joinson (2003, p.30) “if social context ques are weak (…) people’s communicative behaviour will tend to be weakly regulated, meaning more uninhibited behaviour”.

Leave a Reply

