Meeting new people in Second Life

Standard

Our second task was to visit Second Life and try to meet new people with simmilar interests to ours. At first I was not sure where to start I tried to google various locations searching for places or communities who share my interests which are: photography, art, design, nature and many more. I also looked for such places in Second Life. I have visited lots of different locations for instatce: University of Delaware- Art Gallery, Kolor Studio, SL Art Community Centre, Timamon Arts- Art Gallery, Elements Photography & Graphic Design Studio, UWA 3D  Art & Graphic Design Challenge Gallery, The Or Cafe and finaly Lost Dog Designs, which as I discovered is responsible for some of the animated products in SL.

To my suprise all of these places were completely empty. I think it might be because most of these places were holding some exhibitions and maybe people just do not visit them that often and they would rather spend their time somewhere else.

It took me a while to finally find an interesting place that was not deserted. I travelled to a place called The Crosstime Public House Elements In Design. There was only one person there- a graphic designer Minerva Breda. Minerva told me a little bit about the place, she was very helpfull and eager to talk to me as she said she likes to help newcomers. She gave me a few very interesting landmarks for places where I can find out how to build objects and learn some basics of SL. Minerva also invited me to join The G Crew group which I thought was great as it gives more possibilities to meet new interesting people, fellow artists. The G Crew is Gwen Carillon’s group. As I was told by Minerva, Gwen is an artist and a Dj and she has won RL awards for her virtual builds. I spent a really great time talking to Minerva, the conversation was very interesting because I learned new things about places that are worth visiting if I am looking for people who share my interests. I discovered new beautifull locations one of them was Pteron where Minerva took me. The place was full of marvelous colours and secret teleports. I hope that I will have a chance to talk to Minerva more often and that we will maintain our friendship.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

PTERON

About aniaanu55

Choosing the Virtual Environment: Is one life enough? module I am hoping to gain some new experience in the virtual space. Second life is completely new to mo so there is a lot to learn about it, also I have never had a blog before so this is a new experience to me too. Nowadays virtual environment is a great part of everyone's life so I find it crucial to be able to find myself in it and explore different aspects of it. I think the module will be something very interesting and fresh.

Leave a Reply

