Research for the final project

Standard

Starting my research for the final project I decided to go back to all the people I have met in Second life to learn from them and get some help. Last week I was discovering SL with Itzi and we met with Jaynine who we know from her Thousand  Rooms performance that took place few weeks ago. Jaynine was very helpful, first of all, she taught us how to save and share landmarks with other people, and also as she is a performer I thought that it would be a good idea to ask her how to get a place for a performance having our presentation in mind. Here is a part of our conversation on this subject:

[17:14] Ania: I was wondering how does it work to find a place to perform ?we need to do our presentation at the end of the module and I wanted to ask if we have to pay for a place to use it?

[17:14] jaynine Scarborough: no, not necessarily

[17:14] jaynine Scarborough: when is the end of the module?

[17:15] Ania: in may I’m not sure what day yet

[17:15] jaynine Scarborough: at this moment we re trying to find a new place. when its thewre you can make the presentation there, no problem 🙂

[17:15] jaynine Scarborough: ahh may.. till then no problem

[17:16] Ania: that would be great!:) thank you

I was wondering how to get a good place to perform and from what I know and from what Jaynine told us, what happens ussualy is that people have to rent a place in order to perform in it. I thought it was really nice of her that she proposed that we could do our presentation at her place. I think it was a good and very motivating start. I also thought about costumes that we were suggested to wear during our presentation. When I was visiting The Help Island I discovered some really interesting ones like for example a plane costume. This is just an idea but I thought that speaking of how virtual life can be different from the real one, the fact that one can be dressed as a plane shows the difference very well. I have also e-mailed Minerva Breda the designer I had met a while ago and I have spoken to Rob Barber who is an artist. I got some interesting landmarks from Rob and he invited me to see an exhibition of his artwork. The next step that I am going to take is to e-mail Rob and ask him a few questions about his art and how it is done in Second life and also about his experiences in Second Life as we are trying to focus on the differences and similarities between RL and SL. And finally, I am going to meet with other people I have met and try to meet new ones and contact Sitearm Madonna.

Me wearing my new plane costume.

About aniaanu55

Choosing the Virtual Environment: Is one life enough? module I am hoping to gain some new experience in the virtual space. Second life is completely new to mo so there is a lot to learn about it, also I have never had a blog before so this is a new experience to me too. Nowadays virtual environment is a great part of everyone's life so I find it crucial to be able to find myself in it and explore different aspects of it. I think the module will be something very interesting and fresh.

Leave a Reply

