New locations

Standard

This week I started to explore new locations in Second Life searching for something that would be relevant to our group project. The project theme is reality and I wanted to discover how real can Second Life get in a sense of imitating reality. In order to do that I started visiting places related to technology. There were two places in particular that I thought were really interesting the first one was called Genome Island where visitors could get information about  genes and DNA. The second location is called Virtual hallucinations. The name itself sounds peculiar because hallucinations is something that we can only experience in the real world and I got really intrigued by it. As it turned out Virtual hallucinations is a location devoted to schizophrenia. It is an exhibition created by medical researchers to bring the difficult subject closer  to people. The exhibition allows visitors to experience symptoms of schizophrenia such as hearing voices or rapid, unexpected changes in the closest environment. Having in mind the theme of our project I thought it was really interesting  to experience something that real through virtual means.

About aniaanu55

Choosing the Virtual Environment: Is one life enough? module I am hoping to gain some new experience in the virtual space. Second life is completely new to mo so there is a lot to learn about it, also I have never had a blog before so this is a new experience to me too. Nowadays virtual environment is a great part of everyone's life so I find it crucial to be able to find myself in it and explore different aspects of it. I think the module will be something very interesting and fresh.

Leave a Reply

