Research for the final project

Standard

Recently during the research for our final ” Reality”  project I came across very interesting article in which the author- Mark Hooper, talks about his and everyone else’s reality that we are live in. Hooper claims that it is not surprising or shocking to anyone anymore that most of our communication happens online, asking at the same time questions such as “Why is it acceptable to not actually speak to the people we deal with on a daily basis? Why do we prefer faceless anonymity? ” . Hooper’s partial answer to that question is that we live in as the author calls it ” super-accelerated times” full of technology and in that speed we are getting used to living this way. In my opinion this is a serious problem, people spend too much time connected to their devices, tweeting, posting on Facebook, e-mailing, sharing photos of their meals on Instagram etc. instead of connecting to each other outside of virtual world.

big-platform-guy

While writing above sentence this image, that I found a few weeks ago came to my mind. I remember seeing this photograph everywhere, people were commenting on it, and named the man in the red circle the time traveler. This image spoke to me because when I was growing up (even though, and maybe even more so) it was not that long ago all we had was a stationary phone and I still remember the time before internet and I was able to witness this enormous technological and social change that occurred over the years.

Having said that I do think that all the technological developments and social media platforms are amazing and are proven to be very useful like in case of discussed in class “Technology’s Impact on Disaster Relief” where Tweeter was proven to be extremely helpful being excellent way of communication during time of crisis. Posts shared on Tweeter during the hurricane Sandy informed and navigated people during this difficult time. There is countless reasons for which virtual communication and social media are truly great inventions but in my opinion we should use them wisely and even though the world is changing and developing so fast we should sometimes stop for a moment and do not forget about  the reality. Hooper wrote in his article ” I felt the need to slow down a little. And there doesn’t seem to be an app for that.” I think that defines our times really well, we are getting used to technology so much that sometimes it is difficult to disconnect for a while and find other solutions.

Sources:

http://forums.techsoup.org/cs/community/b/tsblog/archive/2012/10/31/technologys-impact-on-disaster-relief.aspx

http://www.theguardian.com/theobserver/2010/apr/11/giving-up-the-internet

http://gutjahr.biz/2014/02/guy-without-phone/?

 

About aniaanu55

Choosing the Virtual Environment: Is one life enough? module I am hoping to gain some new experience in the virtual space. Second life is completely new to mo so there is a lot to learn about it, also I have never had a blog before so this is a new experience to me too. Nowadays virtual environment is a great part of everyone's life so I find it crucial to be able to find myself in it and explore different aspects of it. I think the module will be something very interesting and fresh.

One response »

  1. Wow Ania, this is one of the most insightful posts that I’ve read and I really like what you’re saying here. Technology has become an integral part of our daily lives, and chances are, that’s not going away anytime soon. While technology has lead the way for breakthroughs in science, medicine, and math, it has also created a state of over-reliance and dependency. People are becoming more comfortable having a conversation online than they are in real life, and this is a serious problem. I’m all for technology, but I think we need to be responsible in its usage and not become so dependent on it that we need to pull out a calculator to do 2+3.

Leave a Reply

