Inappropriate / controversial tweets

Standard

During the last class we discussed three examples of inappropriate and controversial tweets. The first one was awfully immature, racist and in very simple words plain stupid. It was a tweet posted by PR executive Justine Sacco. In her post Justine said: ” Going to Africa. Hope I don’t get Aids. Just kidding. I’m white!”. In my opinion this post was absolutely thoughtless. When I first saw it I could not believe my eyes I thought it was a joke, a very bad one too and that was even before I found out that these words came out from a PR executive. The second example was a teenage girl who posted offensive comments. When I think of both of the examples together I would not say that I approve in any shape or form any of them but I think that our perspective and judgment changes based on who is saying that. I think I have more understanding of why an inexperienced teenager unaware of the value and impact of words and how she is going to be perceived by society could write such a offensive posts than a grown up professional. Nevertheless I think regardless our age, we should become more aware of our online identity and be simply more thoughtful and respectful in our ways of communication.

The third example was a little bit different from the two above the tweet came from Dr. Phill who posted : ” If a girl is drunk is it OK to have sex with her? Reply yes or no.” This was obviously a very controversial tweet but as bad as it sounded it was not meant to come up this way in my opinion. People were arguing over it, posting many comments and deliberating on how many levels was it inappropriate. As I do agree that it does look inappropriate and controversial I do not think that there was anything else behind it besides a follow up from Dr. Phill’s show. In my opinion the question was posted to check how society would react and respond to that and how they will answer the question. Having said that since this is a very fragile and potentially dangerous topic, I think it was really easy to predict how it will end up and I think it should not be posted even just to avoid the unnecessary controversy and confusion.

 

Sources:

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2013/dec/22/pr-exec-fired-racist-tweet-aids-africa-apology

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/crime/9978140/Paris-Brown-row-police-chief-insists-teens-say-appalling-things-on-Twitter.html

http://www.breitbart.com/InstaBlog/2013/08/21/Dr-Phil-Deletes-Controversial-Tweet-If-a-Girl-is-Drunk-Is-it-OK-to-Have-Sex-with-Her

 

About aniaanu55

Choosing the Virtual Environment: Is one life enough? module I am hoping to gain some new experience in the virtual space. Second life is completely new to mo so there is a lot to learn about it, also I have never had a blog before so this is a new experience to me too. Nowadays virtual environment is a great part of everyone's life so I find it crucial to be able to find myself in it and explore different aspects of it. I think the module will be something very interesting and fresh.

Leave a Reply

