Presentation

Standard

The day of the presentation finally came, after weeks of research and preparation we were ready to present our topic which was “Social media as our second life”. The reflections I had during and after our presentation were mostly positive, even though myself and I think everyone else usually thinks that something could have been done better or differently, I thought our group presented quite well in overall. What I think might have been done differently was making our first plan with the race track installation work. I thought it might have been more interesting and interactive but on the other hand we definitely would not fit within 10 minute presentation time restriction with that plan and it might have been difficult to handle, with so many people walking around while we would be presenting.  Because of the time people would have to spend walking through our installation which originally consisted of 35 slides the presentation would last for much longer than planned and expected. Considering all that, I am glad in general that we decided on the other solution with smaller set of slides put together on a stage.

When it comes to the speaking part of our presentation, I think all of our group members prepared really well research wise. I realize that we went a little bit over the time limit but I think and hope that we did well in overall. I have learned a lot during this course preparing our final project and I have to say that the experience was very different from when I did this course two years ago. I think that this time I felt more confident in Second Life and that had enriched my experience. The only thing I was worried about before the presentation was my computer which tends to crush very often recently as well as Second Life viewer itself. I was nervous that it might happen during the presentation but in case of that I prepared a back up plan, I have sent my script to Sam who was going to continue on my behalf if any of above mentioned happened. Luckily everything went well and there was no need to use the backup plan.

To summarize I think that all groups did really well, I was especially impressed with the group that presented first which not only build a beautiful temple to present in but also made amazing video. I also enjoyed the second presentation, I thought it was really interesting that they looked at the topic of reality from such unconventional angle. I was also very impressed with how well they managed to overcome the unexpected difficulties during their presentation. It was a great evening and I hope everyone else enjoyed it as much as I did.

Here are few pictures from our presentation evening.

Snapshot_058 Snapshot_060 Snapshot_066 Snapshot_065 Snapshot_062 Snapshot_061

 

About aniaanu55

Choosing the Virtual Environment: Is one life enough? module I am hoping to gain some new experience in the virtual space. Second life is completely new to mo so there is a lot to learn about it, also I have never had a blog before so this is a new experience to me too. Nowadays virtual environment is a great part of everyone's life so I find it crucial to be able to find myself in it and explore different aspects of it. I think the module will be something very interesting and fresh.

Leave a Reply

